Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes Reviews

November 11, 2012 by
Filed under: Small Rugs 


Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes

  • Dimensions: 9.25 in. h x 8 in. w x 0.8 in. d
  • Weight: 1.53 ounces
  • Made in US

There’s a lot to love about the classic square crochet motif. But if it’s hip to make squares, imagine the excitement of making circles, stars, triangles, and hexagons. Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs introduces crocheters to more than 150 designs of every size and shape. Full-color photographs capture the intricate details and color work of each motif, and clear step-by-step instructions are presented in both text and visual formats. With its unexpected range of shapes, designs, and color id

List Price: $ 18.95

Price: $ 9.89

More Small Rugs Products




Comments

3 Comments on Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes Reviews

  1. R. Kelly Wagner "bunrab@bunrab.net" on Sun, 11th Nov 2012 2:54 am
    135 of 136 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Fun to look at, fun to do, September 14, 2008
    By 
    R. Kelly Wagner “bunrab@bunrab.net” (MD, United States) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes (Spiral-bound)

    I bought this book because the cover was pretty, really – and that’s not a bad reason at all, because the excellent color pictures continue inside. But there are many other reasons to like the book.

    I crochet a lot of baby afghans and wedding afghans and shawls, and yeah, I got tired of the plain old granny square oh, about 30 years ago – but I keep on doing it because it’s easy to do and because it’s a great way to use up scraps of color. Well, this book gives me lots more ways to use up small quantities of leftover yarn, and many of the motifs are as easy as granny squares, so I’ll be able to do a couple to learn them, then do them on autopilot, where I don’t need to look at the pattern any more, or even at the yarn – so I can do them in the dark, at symphony concerts and movies and on long car rides. Motifs are also handy for those kinds of times, because you don’t have a single huge crocheted something that you have to haul around with you and that starts taking up the seat next to you once you’re more than half done.

    Some of the circular motifs will become coasters without any sewing together needed, and they can also become the bottom of bottle cozies or can cozies (“koozies”), or, in a larger gauge and larger hook and cotton yarn, become trivets for your table. But the hexagons are my favorites – not only do they make good coasters, but they make lovely bedspreads with edges full of little points, like prairie points – make one just slightly larger than the top of the bed, so that the points just hang over the edge. Motif #54 is every bit as easy to do as a granny square – think of it as a granny hexagon – and think of producing a crocheted throw or spread that resembles a “grandmother’s flower garden” quilt pattern! If you want fewer color changes so you can make these while watching TV or otherwise doing two things at once, motifs 31, 32, and 33 have only two colors.

    The triangle motifs require a bit more fudging and stretching to make them have exactly straight edges and fit together the way quilt pieces would; I plan to use these triangles more in a freeform manner, with circles and odd shapes combined to make a large regular shape out of many small irregular ones.

    And – surprise! – there are squares as well, and things that have four corners although not straight sides, such as motif #94, which would fit in a square but is sort of a four-petalled flower.

    And the irregular shapes – well, my favorite is the oval #125, which looks just like a miniature braided rug, and so will make lots of cute little “mug rugs” as coasters.

    In short, a wealth of ideas, motifs from easy to advanced, sure to provide lots of satisfaction even though there are not any complete patterns for afghans or garments.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. se-so on Sun, 11th Nov 2012 3:27 am
    102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    New Motfis that will Inspire, August 12, 2008
    By 
    se-so

    Amazon Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes (Spiral-bound)

    This is a great crochet book. As an avid, experienced crocheter, most of the books I buy are so-so or plain awful. This book delivers.

    PROS:
    1) Easy to read and use. Clear large colorful photos (motifs made up in easy to see yarns) and large easy to read type on a spiral bound book, for flat, no flip pages. Large diagrams and well written instructions. Love having both to go by.
    2) Creative and unusual. Lots and lots of new motifs here in all sorts of shapes, from the traditional square to decorative motifs, like the star fish. Well organized layout by shapes.
    3) Nice introduction with hints for use, and even aids for making up your own motifs. Well done.
    4) Thankfully, the first half of the book is not dedicated to learning how to crochet. Sorry beginners, but there are tons of learn how to crochet books, and I hate spending my money on a pattern book that spends more time showing me how then letting me get at it. Yes, there are charts and a few reminders, and even a glossary, but it’s not overdone.

    CONS:
    Okay not cons, I love this book, more like a wish list.
    I wish there were more squares. I am in need of new motifs for things that must be square, (hint: Title “Beyond-the-Square”) and this book is chockfull of motifs, but fewer squares. There are a fair amount, but not as many as I would have liked.

    I wish there were photos of projects. Yes, the book will inspire you, and there are a few pages with cutesy, colored ink drawings, but no actual photos of projects. Just for the sake of eye-candy, because the colored motifs are so striking, I would have loved to have drooled over a few photos of put together projects.

    I wish the motifs had names, titles. It’s a trend in books to label patterns by number, but it is an art craft book, let’s have some names. I can remember names, but it’s hard for me to remember “Oh, yeah I want to make number 72 or was that 27?”

    Summary: Great book, creative, colorful, fun, and well written. I have made up two motifs so far, and I am very pleased.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. sara on Sun, 11th Nov 2012 4:19 am
    188 of 208 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    Three and a half, really., August 20, 2008
    By 
    sara (Toronto, Ontario Canada) –

    This review is from: Beyond the Square Crochet Motifs: 144 circles, hexagons, triangles, squares, and other unexpected shapes (Spiral-bound)

    There are a few things I like about this book. The fact that it is spiral bound is very nice. And naturally I was drawn to its concept: different motifs: triangles, circles, hexagons, “weird” shapes… I’m an avid square-crocheter, and I’ve been looking forward to moving into other motifs.

    My main problem with this book is its lack of examples on completed projects. The book does include a section of cute doodled examples of what to do with motifs (put them on flip-flops; sew them together for a rug; line them up across the chest of a sweater) but there is not a single photo, not a single example of an actual project completed using motifs from this book. Which is very disappointing to me. I love getting inspiration for projects by flipping through crafting books, and seeing the different colours used. This book will give you nice ideas for individual motifs and that is all.

    I think the book would have done better to acknowledge that because you’re making unusual motifs, putting them together in unusual and creative ways and combinations is part of the fun. I also did not find the author’s repetitive choice of colours inspiring. The cover picture is great, but inside I found it lacking.

    There are some nice motifs in this book, and I would suggest it to people who would like a straight-up how-to book. But if you’re looking for a book that will inspire through its use of varied colour and finished product ideas, this will leave you disappointed.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Tell me what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!

You must be logged in to post a comment.